Week Commencing 30 April 2007

With the deadline for playing postponed matches approaching, four out of the six divisions across the three-a-side and two-a-side competitions are now completed, with promotion and relegation places decided.

In Division 1, Colebridge A had an 8-2 win over two-man Free Church A when Neil Wheatley and Edward Lynn both won their maximum two and Navinder Matharu one. Hugh Matthews took a single in reply, as well as the doubles with Alan Jones. Warwickshire County Council A overwhelmed relegated St Georges C 10-0 thanks to Phil Paine, Pat McCabe and Clive Irwin. The first and second positions had been settled before Flavels A and St Georges A met, but the League's top two sides battled it out in a close encounter which could see any one of three players take the Division 1 Averages prize. It was Ian Packford of St Georges who was to emerge with the honour as he led his team to a 6-4 win with a hattrick, plus the doubles with Earl Sweeney who also won twice. For Flavels, Paul Savins won twice, just slipping to number two in the averages list, Mark Jackson once (number three in the averages) and Damon Fenton once also.

The Division 1 title goes to Flavels A, with St Georges A runners-up. Eathorpe A and St Georges C are relegated to Division 2. Ian Packford (St Georges A) takes the Averages prize with 93.93% (62/66), from Paul Savins (Flavels A) 93.1% (54/58) and Mark Jackson (Flavels A) 89.13% (41/46).

In Division 2, Rugby A confirmed their status as Champions with a 10-0 win over two man RNA C. Len Coonan, Ian Randle and Jack Randle (who's second half improvement has been vital to Rugby's title charge) took the points to claim the trophy. Rugby B, who were lying third, racked up a 10-0 win against Free Church C. That left Pete Morris, Alaam Durrani and Alan Chan in third place, but they would take second place from Free Church B if they could beat them in the last match of the season. It wasn't to be though. Free Church B overcame a nervous start to beat the Rugby side 7-3, thanks to a hat-trick from Tom Brocklehurst, two from Mike Bridgman, the doubles from the pair and one from Chris Mulligan. Rugby's points came from Pete Morris, who won a brace and Alaam Durrani, who won a single. Whitnash and Flavels B were both only able to field two players and it was Whitnash who came out on top. Two each from Ian Perry and Paul Ryman, plus the doubles saw them to a 7-2 win. Cherry Matthews was Free Church C's only saviour as they lost 9-1 to BGN B for whom Malcolm Macfarlane and John Ludford collected maximums and Steve Proctor a brace.

The Division 2 title goes to Rugby A, with Free Church B in second. Both teams are promoted to Division 1. RNA C and RNA B are relegated to Division 3. Ian Randle (Rugby A) wins the Division 2 Averages prize with an immaculate 100% (65/65), from Pete Morris (Rugby B) on 89.39% (59/66) and Tom Brocklehurst (Free Church B) on 87.09% (54/62).

Division 3, where any combination of the top three sides could have finished in the top two spots, was completed when Rugby C's trio of Mihai Duhovnicu, Matthew Outhwaite and Don Pritchard beat Eathorpe B 10-0.

That result means that Rugby C are promoted to Division 2 as Champions, with Free Church E promoted as runners-up. Allan Stockham (Eathorpe B) has won the Division 3 Averages with 98.24% (56/57), pipping nearest qualifying rivals Don Pritchard (Rugby C) 83.33% (50/60) and Doug Lowe (WCC D) 82.92% (34/41).

In the two-a-side competition, the only division to be completed at present is Division B. The last match involved third placed Eathorpe K and ninth placed Eathorpe H. A 4-1 win for the K's left H in ninth place, but pushed the K side in to second place. Holly Savage won twice for K and took the doubles with Jack Parry, who won once. Hannah Saville took home a consolation for the H side.

LCP Dreamers have finished as Champions of Division B, from second placed Eathorpe K and both will be promoted to Division A for next season. Eathorpe J and LCP Packers are relegated to Division C. Simon Dainty (LCP Dreamers) scoops the Division B Averages prize with 90% (18/20) from Richard Freeman (Eathorpe G) 80% (16/20) and Daniel Ward, Phillip Booth (both Free Church M) and Sam Smith (Free Church J) who all finished with 71.42% (10/14). An honourable mention must go to Richard Pittaway Jnr (Free Church M), who with 83.33% (10/12) actually averaged higher than second placed Richard Freeman, but does not qualify as he played in less than 65% of his team's matched. Unlucky Richard – have a word with your captain!!

In Division A Eathorpe E beat Free Church G 3-2 with one each, plus the doubles, from Ryan James Oldham and James Matharu. Keith Knott was undefeated for Church G in reply. Free Church I beat Eathorpe E 4-1 though. Although James Matharu won a tight five setter, Lleryn Brocklehurst's two, Luke Spencer's one and the doubles gave the Free Church side the win. St Georges E had a routine 4-1 win over Free Church H with Gary Edwards winning two, Phil Morby one and the doubles together. An excellent reply from Free Church came thanks to Holly Thompson. Once critical match remains in the division – FISSC B are due to play Free Church G on Monday 30 April and need to get three points to finish in second place.

Division C side Rugby H beat Free Church Q 4-1. Peter Moffatt's two, Simon Pook's once and the doubles eclipsing a single from David Herbert. Eathorpe L beat St Georges F 3-2. Gary Osbourne took singles plus the doubles with Josh Osbourne for the win. Callum Martin and Billy Bain replied for Saints. James Payne was unbeaten for Free Church O, but one each from Jakob Lane and Lewis Barge, plus the doubles gave Free Church L the 3-2 win. One critical match remains, due to be played on Monday 30 April. Free Church L need two points from that match to snatch second place from Harbury Lane.

Tickets for the League's annual Presentation Evening are still available from Sue Clarke (01926 402934). The event is to be held at St Patricks Club, Leamington on Friday 18th May 2007.