## Week Commencing 2<sup>nd</sup> January 2006

The Autumn competition for the 2-aside league is completed with Riverhouse Henley B retaining the title for Division A, which they had won previously for the 2004/05 season. They took 8 wins from 10 matches, for 39 points, just ahead of new team Jordan F1 who gained 38 points from 9 wins. Both teams now have the hard task of repeating it all in the Spring competition which starts on 9<sup>th</sup> January. Teams from FISSC and Eathorpe will no doubt remain in close contention. Stephen Shaw (Riverhouse) won all his matches and should take the individual averages cup.

Everyone won one when Free Church F beat St. Georges F 3-2 Jake Harrison, Estyn Williams one each and the doubles for Church, Philip Morby and Steven Johnson one each for Saints. F edged out Eathorpe E 3-2 (Keith Knott, Estyn Williams one and doubles for Church, Charles Wragg two for Eathorpe) and F (Keith Knott, Jake Harrison) beat LCP Packers 5-0 as did Eathorpe D (Eric Smith, Richard Freeman). FISSC B defeated Eathorpe D 3-2, Brian Marston and George Mudie one each and the doubles for the Farmers, Eugene Mawn and Eric Smith for Eathorpe. Jordan F1 beat Eathorpe E 3-2, David Jordan one, Mike Skidmore two for Jordan, one each and the doubles, Charles Wragg one for Eathorpe and the doubles with Peter Nicholson. Jordan F1 then had a short 4-1 match against St. Georges F who were one short giving away three points. David Jordan one for Jordan, Steven Johnson one for Saints. Eathorpe D whitewashed Free Church G 5-0 (Richard Freeman and 12 year old reserve William Hancock). Eathorpe E (Peter Nicholson and Charles Wragg) squashed LCP Packers 5-0; as did Jordan F1 (Mike and David Jordan). Jordan F1 beat St. Georges E 4-1 (David Jordan two, Mike Jordan one plus doubles for F1, Paul Nason one for Saints). Jordan F1 also beat LCP Dreamers 4-1 (Mike Jordan two, David Jordan one plus doubles, Simon Dainty one for Dreamers). Riverhouse Henley B (Joe Shaw, debutant John Avriss) rolled over LCP Dreamers 5-0 and Church G 5-0 (Joe and Steven Shaw). St. Georges E (Paul Nason two, Lawrence Sweeney one) beat FISSC B (John Hunt one plus doubles with Mark Kingham) 3-2. St. Georges F (Steven Johnson two, Philip Morby one plus doubles) defeated Eathorpe D 4-1 (Eric Smith one). St. Georges F were awarded a 5-0 walkover over Free Church G when Church failed to attend their rearranged match. LCP Dreamers (Simon Dainty two, Simon Walmesley one plus doubles) defeated clubmates Packers (Stephen Deeley one) 4-1. LCP Packers and Free Church G are expected to be relegated to Division B for the spring.

In Division B Eathorpe F wiped out LCP Inkers in straight sets 5-0, Dave and Katie Hawker making a convincing win. But Free Church H then beat Eathorpe F 4-1 (Sam Smith two, Tom Smith one plus doubles for Church, Dave Hawker one for Eathorpe). Despite this one loss, Eathorpe F are still clear champions of the Division B Autumn Competition. They, and second placed Eathorpe G, will be promoted to Division A for the Spring. Dave Hawker (Eathorpe F) won 85% (17 from 20) of his matches and takes the averages prize. Eathorpe G (Tom Jamie two, Chris Long one) beat Church I (Anthony Reeve one plus doubles with Ross McDermott) 3-2. Church H (Tom Smith and Michael Turner one each and doubles) beat LCP Groovers (Sara Hemp two) 3-2. LCP Groovers and LCP Inkers will be relegated to Division C.

In Division C Eathorpe J (James Matharu, Ryan Oldham, both 12 years old) rolled over Church P 5-0 to finish with 43 points from a possible total of 50 and the division title. They and second placed Free Church J, will play in Division B for the spring competition. Both teams finished with 9 wins and only one loss. James Matharu from Eathorpe J should take the averages prize.

Previously there was a series of Free Church derbies. Between the K's and the L's, L won 4-1 (Scott Delday two, Jack Hobbins one and doubles, Jakob Lane one for K). K recovered to edge past Church Q 3-2 (Lewis Barge one and doubles with Jakob Lane, Callum Jeromson one for K, Holly Thompson two for Q). K also beat Church N 3-2 (Callum Jeromson one, Lewis Barge one, and doubles for K, Lindy Myers two for N). Church J rolled over N 5-0 (Charlotte and Russell Spencer) and M 5-0 (Luke

and Charlotte Spencer). Church L (Scott Delday two plus doubles with Jack Hobbins) beat Q (Ashley Edwards one, James Payne one) 3-2. Church O (Chris Beckett and Stuart Thompson the singles) overcame Church M (Geoff and Georgina Scholes the doubles) 4-1; then P 4-1 (Stuart Thompson two, Kyle Thompson one plus the doubles for O, Henry Carpenter one for P). Finally O (Stuart Thompson two plus doubles with Kyle Thompson) beat Q (Holly Thompson one, James Payne one) 3-2.

In the match between the top two teams, Church J squeezed past Eathorpe J 3-2 (Russell and Charlotte Spencer one each and the doubles for Church, James Matharu two for Eathorpe). Eathorpe J (Ryan Oldham and James Matharu) then saw off Church O 5-0. Eathorpe H (William Henry two, Adam Kennedy one) squeezed past Church K (Callum Jeromson one, Jakob Lane and Lewis Barge the doubles) 3-2. Church L (Jack Hobbins two, Scott Delday two) beat Eathorpe H (Robert Young and Adam Kennedy the doubles) 4-1. Eathorpe I (Mark and Elizabeth Hancock) rolled up Church P 5-0. Eathorpe H (William Henry, Robert Young) defeated Church O 5-0, as did Eathorpe I (Matthew Jackson two, Pauline Parkes two and the doubles with Teresa Adams).