Leamington and District Table Tennis Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at WCC Staff Club on 14th June 2006.

1. Members present and apologies

24 members signed the attendance sheet attached to the file copy of these minutes. 9 members sent apologies and are listed on the apologies sheet attached to the file copy of these minutes.

2. Minutes and matters arising

The minutes of the AGM held on 15th June 2005 were APPROVED as a true record and signed by the Chairman. There were no matters arising.

3. Annual Report of the Executive Committee.

It was RESOLVED that the Annual Report of the Executive Committee for 2005/06 be approved.

5. Statement of accounts.

The Treasurer presented the audited statement of accounts and balance sheet and answered questions from members about them. It was RESOLVED that the audited statement of accounts for the year ending 31st May 2006 and the balance sheet be approved.

6. Amendments to the rules proposed by the Executive Committee

6a That rule 9i be deleted and replaced by "9i Except by prior agreement of the opposing team a player not present by 8pm may not take part in the match". The motion was CARRIED.

6b That a new rule 14c be added as follows:- "14c All clubs shall inform the Representative Match Secretary by the date printed in the handbook if any of their players wish to play in representative matches or events to which the Association is entitled to nominate". The motion was CARRIED.

7. Amendment to the rules proposed by Brian Yeates and seconded by Chris Atkins

That a new rule 6g be added as follows:- "6g Registration of a new player for the current season will not be accepted after 31 January. Players will not be allowed to play in any match postponed prior to their registration." The motion was LOST.

8 Proposals for discussion by Brian Yeates and seconded by Chris Atkins

The following items were proposed for discussion:-

- **8a.** That regulation 7f for the handicap cup competitions is deleted and replaced by:- "7f For all handicap competitions, handicaps for each match will be set for every combination of opposing players determined from the Association player ratings as published at the date of setting the handicap. The committee will establish a suitable calculation process which is to be issued to all participating teams".
- **8b.** The committee to review and approve all match venues to ensure its surroundings are safe, clear of all obstructions and to the ETTA standard for league matches.
- **8c.** The committee ensure adherence to the rules of Table Tennis (see rule 8a) with particular reference to bat coverings and illegal service.
- **8d** The committee ensure that in the annual championships there is a separate event for under 11 girls (not with under 11 boys as now).

8e The committee to ensure that in the annual championships "Group Round Robin" rounds are only used when group winners can proceed to knockout rounds. When there are low numbers of entrants and the committee play a single round robin event, the winner of the round robin should be declared the winner (not be forced to play again at the finals night).

After discussion items 8a to 8e inclusive were referred to the Executive Committee.

9. Election of officers.

The following officers were elected unopposed:-

Chairman: Malcolm Macfarlane Vice Chairman: Hazel Higgins General Secretary: Estyn Williams

Treasurer: Derek Harwood

League Secretary: Malcolm Macfarlane

Press Officer: Caroline Williams

Representative Match Secretary: Phil Paine Tournament Secretary: Malcolm Macfarlane

Competitions Secretary: Ian Stevens

Coaching Officer: vacant

County Representative: Dot Macfarlane Headquarters Officer; Alf Chapman

Webmaster: Richard Grover Welfare Officer vacant Social Secretary: Sue Clarke

It was agreed that the thanks of the Association to Jim Thomas for his work as Competitions Secretary and to Tracey Fletcher for her work as Social Secretary be recorded in the minutes.

10. Election of up to six other members of the Executive Committee.

Doug Lowe and Reg Warnes were elected unopposed as members of the Executive Committee.

11. Election of Auditor.

John Ingram was elected unopposed as Auditor.

13. Arrangements for the coming season

The Chairman reported that it was expected that there would be an increase in the number of 3 aside teams registering next season and for this reason he expected that there would have to be an additional 3 aside division. He personally favoured calling this the Premier Division though it would be for the Executive Committee to decide.

The General Secretary said that entry forms for next season had been handed to clubs at the meeting. Entries should be submitted by Friday 14th July. The Club Secretaries meeting would be held on Thursday 14 September and the new season would start on 25th September.

14. Any other business.

Eric Teale suggested that the weeks of the autumn and spring school half terms should be free weeks in the fixture chart.