Leamington and District Table Tennis Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at WCC Staff Club on 15th June 2005.

1. Members present and apologies

27 members signed the attendance sheet attached to the file copy of these minutes. Apologies were received from Richard Grover, Phil Paine, Don Pritchard and Andy Davies.

2. Minutes and matters arising

The minutes of the AGM held on 16th June 2004 were approved as a true record and signed by the Chairman. There were no matters arising.

3. Annual Report of the Executive Committee.

It was resolved that the Annual Report of the Executive Committee for 2004/05 be approved.

5. Statement of accounts.

The Treasurer presented the audited statement of accounts and balance sheet. It was resolved that the audited statement of accounts for the year ending 31st May 2005 and the balance sheet be approved.

6. Amendment to the rules proposed by the Executive Committee

That the revised draft rules as printed with the agenda and attached to the file copy of these minutes be adopted as the rules of the association. The motion was CARRIED.

7. Amendment to the rules proposed by Derek Harwood

That in new rule 9(i) "8pm" is replaced by "8.30pm". The motion was LOST.

8. Further amendment to the rules proposed by Derek Harwood

That in new rule 9(i) "8pm" is replaced by "9pm". The motion was WITHDRAWN by the proposer.

9. Amendment to the rules proposed by the Eric Teale

Propose the two aside divisions be numbered 4,5 and 6 if needed and be governed by the same rules as the three aside teams, especially new rule 7b. The motion was LOST.

10. Election of officers.

The following officers were elected unopposed:-Chairman: Malcolm Macfarlane Vice Chairman: Hazel Higgins General Secretary: Estyn Williams Treasurer: Derek Harwood League Secretary: Malcolm Macfarlane Press Officer: Caroline Williams Representative Match Secretary: Phil Paine Tournament Secretary: Malcolm Macfarlane Competitions Secretary: vacant Coaching Officer: vacant County Representative: Estyn Williams Headquarters Officer; Alf Chapman Webmaster: Richard Grover Welfare Officer Nathan Lee

Social Secretary: Julie Richardson

The Chairman asked that the thanks of the Association to Steve Hawkins for his work as Competitions Secretary be recorded in the minutes as it seemed unlikely he would be able to continue. It was agreed that the post be left vacant while the position was clarified and that if Steve was not able to continue the Executive Committee should fill the vacancy.

11. Election of up to six other members of the Executive Committee.

Richard Lancucki, Doug Lowe, Ian Stevens and Jim Thomas were elected unopposed as members of the Executive Committee.

It was agreed that the Association's thanks be recorded in the minutes to Carol Meredith and Andrew Meredith who were retiring from the Executive Committee for their work over a number of years.

12. Election of Auditor.

John Ingram was elected unopposed as Auditor.

13. Arrangements for the coming season

The General Secretary said that entry forms for next season had been handed to clubs at the meeting. Entries should be submitted by Friday 15th July. The Club Secretaries meeting would be held on Thursday 15th September and the new season would start on 26th September.

14. Any other business.

A member referred to the item in the Annual Report about behaviour on finals night. He said that he also felt that the behaviour of a few members at presentation evening had been unacceptable. A number of other members supported this view. It was agreed that the Executive Committee be asked to consider the matter.