Leamington and District Table Tennis Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at AP Sports and Social Club on 11 June 2003.

1. Apologies

Apologies were received from Jim Betts, Chris Fincham, Tony Ford, Linda Nason and Phil Paine.

2. Minutes.

The minutes of the AGM held on 12 June 2002 were approved as a true record and signed by the Chairman. There were no matters arising.

3. Annual Report of the Executive Committee 2002/03.

The Chairman presented the Annual Report of the Executive Committee for 2002/03. Eric Teale asked various points about entries in the handbook. The Chairman explained these. It was resolved that the Annual Report of the Executive Committee for 2002/03 be approved.

4. Statement of accounts for the year ending 31 May 2003.

The Treasurer presented the audited statement of accounts and balance sheet. Members asked about the funding of coaching and the Chairman explained this. A member also asked if the Association had public liability insurance. The Chairman confirmed that it did. It was resolved that the audited statement of accounts for the year ending 31 May 2003 and the balance sheet be adopted.

5. Motions proposed by the Executive Committee

- a. That Association rule 3a be amended by inserting after 'Headquarters Officer' the word 'Webmaster'. The motion was CARRIED.
- b. That Association rule 13b be amended by adding at the start 'Unless the rules of a particular event permit otherwise'. The motion was CARRIED.
- c. That Association rule 22b is deleted (and consequently rule 22a is renumbered as rule 22). The motion was CARRIED

6. Motion proposed by Brian Aston and seconded by Eric Teale.

That Association rule 6h is amended to read 'A junior player from a lower division may with the permission of his own club nominate any senior team in a higher division for which he is prepared to act as a reserve up to a maximum of four times in each division'. The motion was CARRIED

9. Election of officers.

The following officers were elected unopposed for 2003/04:

Chairman: Malcolm Macfarlane Vice Chairman: Hazel Higgins General Secretary: Estyn Williams

Treasurer: Derek Harwood

League Secretary: Malcolm Macfarlane

Press Officer: Caroline Williams

Representative Match Secretary: Phil Paine Tournament Secretary: Malcolm Macfarlane Competitions Secretary: Steve Hawkins

Coaching Officer: vacant

County Representative: Estyn Williams

Social Secretary: Lynn Bolitho Webmaster: Richard Grover

Headquarters Officer; Alf Chapman

10. Election of up to 6 other members of the Executive Committee.

Chris Atkins, Doug Lowe, Andrew Meredith, Carol Meredith and Ian Stevens were elected unopposed as members of the Executive Committee.

11. Election of Auditor.

John Ingram was elected unopposed as Auditor.

12. Arrangements for 2003/04 season

The General secretary said that entry forms for next season had been handed to clubs at the meeting. Entries should be submitted by Friday 18 July. The Club Secretaries meeting would be held on 10 September at Headquarters, Radford and the new season would start on 22 September.

13. Any other business.

- a. Brian Aston asked why the Executive Committee had decided to elect a new President every year. The General Secretary explained that after the resignation of the former President (and before discussing who the new President should be) the Executive had decided it would like to honour a number of players rather than electing the same person indefinitely each year. Hazel Higgins said whilst she understood this she felt that one year was to short and that the President should normally be elected for three consecutive years if he was willing to continue serving. The General Secretary said he felt this was a good compromise and the meeting agreed.
- b. Brian Yeates explained that Eathorpe Village Hall was being rebuilt and would not be ready till November. He hoped that matches could played at their opponents venues wherever possible. This was agreed.
- c. A member asked about heating at headquarters and the Chairman agreed to look into the matter.

Signea	• • • • • • •	 	 Chairmar
Date		 	