Learnington and District Table Tennis Association

Minutes of a meeting of the Executive Committee held on 31 January 2002 at AP Sports and Social Club.

Present:- Malcolm Macfarlane (in the chair), Doug Lowe, Carol Meredith, Sam Meredith, Caroline Williams and Estyn Williams.

Apologies for absence were received from:- Chris Atkins, Andrew Meredith, Ray Meredith and Phil Paine,

1. Minutes.

The minutes of the last meeting held on 3 January 2002 were approved as a true record and signed by the chairman.

2. Matters arising.

a. Under item 2a it was reported that the nomination of Malcolm Macfarlane as our representative to the ETTA AGM was not valid as he was already entitled to attend as a national council member. Resolved:- That Estyn Williams be nominated instead. Resolved:- that Estyn and any future nominee be indemnified by the Association in respect of any possible financial liability arising from this nomination.

b. Under item 3 it was reported that St Georges had now correctly registered the former Free Church member and it was agreed that the position should be regarded as regularised.

c. Under item 5 it was reported that John Bolitho was redesigning the lighting system for finals night.

3. Correspondence.

a. From Phoenix B resigning their membership of the league at the end of the first half of the season. It was agreed that provided Phoenix B did in fact complete one match against each of their opponents these matches be allowed to stand.

b. From Derek Harwood thanking the Association for nominating him for the Maurice Goldstein award.

c. From ETTA offering a table tennis for all course. It was agreed that the Association would cover the course fee and expenses of anyone who attended.

4. Tournament.

The meeting proceeded to agree the seeding and arrangements for the Learnington Championships. It was agreed that Carol Meredith would request that Warwickshire umpires officiate on finals night. It was also agreed that where there was only one entrant for an event then that entrant was deemed to be the champion and entitled to be presented with, hold and have their name engraved on any perpetual trophy in the same way as other champions.

5. Any other business.

It was agreed that the Jubilee Trophy (previously awarded to the junior division winners)

be awarded to the division C winners this season.

6. Next meeting.

It was confirmed that as previously agreed the next meeting would be held on Thursday 28 February at AP.

Signed Chairman. Date