Make your own free website on

Leamington and District Table Tennis Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at AP Sports and Social Club on 12 June 2002.


1. Apologies

Apologies were received from Chris Atkins, John Ingram and Samantha Meredith.

2. Minutes.

The minutes of the AGM held on 13 June 2001 were approved as a true record and signed by the chairman.

3. Matters arising

The Chairman reported that the proposed rebuilding of headquarters on the site adjoining the community centre at Radford would not now take place as Radford no longer supported the idea..

4. Annual report of the Executive Committee 2001/2002.

It was resolved that the Annual Report of the Executive Committee for 2001/02 be approved.

5. Statement of accounts for the year ending 31 May 2002.

The audited statement of accounts and balance sheet were presented. It was resolved that the audited statement of accounts for the year ending 31 May 2002 and the balance sheet be adopted.

6. Motions proposed by the Executive Committee

a. That Association rule 12e be amended by deleting the words ‘within 21 days of the commencement of the final weeks fixtures’ and substituting ’by 30 April’. The motion was CARRIED

b. That Association rule 11a be amended by adding at the end ‘All results must be notified to the Press Officer by 1 May.’ The motion was CARRIED.

7. Motion proposed by Eric Teale and seconded by Brian Aston

Proposed alteration to the rules:- That Divisions ‘A’, ’B’ & ‘C’ (2 a Side) become Divisions 4, 5 & 6 of “The Leamington Table Tennis League”. The motion was LOST.

8. Motion proposed by Tony Ford

Proposed addition to the rules - Upon a new or amended proposal being offered to the League, the attending members should be enabled to offer three further amendments to said proposal. The motion was LOST.

9. Election of officers.

 The following officers were elected unopposed for 2001/02:

Chairman: Malcolm Macfarlane

Vice Chairman: Hazel Higgins

General Secretary: Estyn Williams

Treasurer: vacant

League Secretary: Malcolm Macfarlane

Press Officer: Caroline Williams

Representative Match Secretary: Phil Paine

Tournament Secretary: Malcolm Macfarlane

Competitions Secretary: Carol Meredith

Coaching Officer: vacant

County Representative; Malcolm Macfarlane

Social Secretary vacant

Headquarters Officer; Alf Chapman

10. Election of up to 6 other members of the Executive Committee.

Chris Atkins, Richard Grover, Doug Lowe, Andrew Meredith, Samantha Meredith and Janice Rowan were elected unopposed as members of the Executive Committee.

11. Election of Auditor.

John Ingram was elected unopposed as Auditor.

Arrangements for 2002/03 season

The Chairman said that entry forms for next season had been handed to clubs at the meeting. Entries should be submitted by 19 July. The secretaries meeting would be on 11 September and the new season would start on 23 September.

13. Any other business.

a. Alan Stockham said that in his view if a Leamington Closed finalist was unable to be present on finals night they should lose the match by default.

b. It was reported that Alec Murdoch would be challenging Alan Ransome for the post of ETTA chairman in 2003. The chairman said that when more details were known members views on which candidate to support would be welcome.

Signed ……………………………..  Chairman